Primary School

Google Services

Google Translate

Google Translate

Google Search

Google Search


Who's Who

Here is a list of our dedicated team of staff at Birdwell School:


Headteacher and Designated Safeguarding Lead:

Paul Sainsbury                                    


Assistant Headteachers and Deputy Designated Safeguarding Leads:

Emily Downing (currently on maternity leave)

Lucy Durham-Blackwell

Annette Weir (SENCo)



Saplings pre-school: Emily Jones

Reception: Katie Day, Rachael Hunt and Beth Potter

Year 1: Emily Piercey and Stephanie Roe

Year 2: Ben Wilmshurst and Gabi Rowbottom

Year 3: Ellie Pope and Julia Cavill

Year 4: Belle Clarke, Penny Wallace and Gail Cooke

Year 5: Rhys David and Ruth Scott

Year 6: Liam Mead and Henry Springate


Other Teachers:

Mike Welti

Joe Nolan

Sophie Dormer


Classroom Support:

Saplings pre-school: Suzanne Watkin, Ali Newth, Rebecca Eldred

Reception: Gill Easton, Sam Walsh, Tamasin Cottle

Year 1: Becky Bamber, Kiera Elston, Bella Bartlett

Year 2: Elaine Tancell, Emily Penny

Year 3: Heather Ashford

Year 4: Claire Speight, Donna Hartley

Year 5: Kristy Lambert

Year 6: Maria Richards, Jo Turk


1:1 Support

Rebecca Pearson

Mim Seager

Maria Hueston

Lidia Kolodziej

Fran Stones

Steph Stephens


Nurture Room:

Jo Tyas


Administration Staff:

Business Manager: Ruth Hutchison

Assistant Business Managers: Harley Lavin (Mon-Tues), Julie Radnedge (Weds-Fri)

Finance Assistant: Gill Atwill

School Administrator: Jordan Wakeham

Admin Assistant: Caroline Kennett


Premises Staff:

Site Supervisor: Frank Gill

Caretaker: Derek Johnson


Lunchtime Supervisors:

Shaz Johnson

Katie Bartlett

Eva Novak

Hanane El Bejnouni

Sue Skone

Suzanne Watkin

Fran Stones        

Sharon Smith


Breakfast & After-School Club: 

Andrea Hanham

Sam Spears

Jordan Wakeham

Selina Martin

Rebecca Wingrave

Gail Thompson

Steph Hanham

Sue Skone

Elaine Tancell

Shaz Johnson         

Eva Novak

Zoe Croker             

Lydia Tancell